It's oh so quiet - Reisverslag uit Southampton, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Annemiek Boer - WaarBenJij.nu It's oh so quiet - Reisverslag uit Southampton, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Annemiek Boer - WaarBenJij.nu

It's oh so quiet

Door: Annemiek den Boer

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Annemiek

08 Februari 2015 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Southampton

It's been a while since I wrote my previous blog. That's not because I was superbusy, but simply because I didn't have that much to tell! But, after two weeks, it's time to give an update ofcourse!

So on Thursday 30th January we had a White T-shirt Erasmus party, for students that are here abroad. The idea was that you wrote your name, country and course on a plain white T-shirt.

My roommate and I decided that it would be way cooler if we draw our countries. So, with a map next to it, I drew the Netherlands. And I am actually quite proud of it, I think it looks kinda accurate.

Another great thing was, if we met other Dutchies, and they were explaining to someone else where they live (try to explain where Zwolle is in the Netherlands) they could just point on my map. And as it happens with every white t-shirt party, you end up with silly messages. I guarded my map with my life (DO NOT DRAW ON MY MAP, I SWEAR!) but the rest of the t-shirt was nicely interpretated.

I found a message that was suppose to say: Je hebt een mooie glimlach (You have a nice smile) in Dutch. I don't know which language it is, or how they thought you would spell it but they wouldn't pass the Dutch test.

Also messages like; Empress. Simply because we were the most powerful country in the 17th century. I think I'm gonna keep that nickname, it kind of suits me, don't you think?

So I met some new friends and it was a great party. In the weekend I already went over to one of my new friend's house to have dinner. Hmmm... steak!

On Sunday I went to The Theory of Everything, a film about Stephen Hawking, played by one of my favorite actors Eddie Redmayne. Although I didn't think I could keep up with the complicated theories about the universe and the whole film I basically understood everything, even the hardest parts. English test: passed! I can by the way recommend this film to everyone! Even if you hate science, don't know who Stephen Hawking is etc. Just go and see.

I also went to this filmquiz organized by the same cinema. I thought I knew a lot about film, but boy was I wrong. The cinema excisted for 20 years and so the questions were from movies from 1995 till now. Ahum. I was 3 at the time. You can imagine how well I did. At one point there was a description of a movie and we had to guess which movie. 'Menopause in the desert.' One of the things I knew. Sex and the City 2. Great, now I look like a complete airhead. At least I got Perfume; a story of a murderer right as well to make me a little less dumb-looking.

This week I had to finish a Buzzfeed article as homework. The idea was that you write for Buzzfeed (imaginary). That usually contains lists, humor and sarcasm so I tried to put it in: '8 Haute Couture looks that ain't that hot." The teacher is going to review it, so let's just wait for the verdict till then.

My friends and I went out on Thursday to Yates, where drinks are 1 pound for beer and cider (basically a cheaper version of jillz that taste like apple juice and alcohol). I thought it would only happen in TLC's 'Snog, Marry, Avoid' but it was here on the dancefloor as well! A girl who was only dressed in a monokini (you know, that thing that is supposed to be worn for swimming) and pants, guys more buffed than Buffy and more tanned than the average Guido.

Half of the time they are drinking like crazy and trying to get as drunk as possible and the other half of the time they are taking selfies to make sure everyone can see how much fun they have.

So we went home early 'cause we didn't feel this was the place for us.

And now I'm typing this, will probably go to the city centre to buy myself some facial masks and just get a relaxing beauty day! Let's play a relaxing song and just chill.

It's oh so quiet.... shhhhh.....

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Verenigd Koninkrijk, Southampton

Annemiek

Actief sinds 15 Jan. 2015
Verslag gelezen: 202
Totaal aantal bezoekers 5003

Voorgaande reizen:

14 Januari 2015 - 30 Juni 2015

Southampton

Landen bezocht: