Homesick - Reisverslag uit Southampton, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Annemiek Boer - WaarBenJij.nu Homesick - Reisverslag uit Southampton, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Annemiek Boer - WaarBenJij.nu

Homesick

Door: Annemiek den Boer

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Annemiek

16 Maart 2015 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Southampton

It finally starts to kick in: I'm feeling homesick. I don't know why it is happening these last few days, probably because of the thought that my mother and sister are coming over in 2 weeks and I will be home for 3 weeks after that.

And strange things happen when you're feeling homesick. Suddenly, everything you thought was cheesy (haha cheese, you get it?) about your country is what makes your country special.

The soundtrack of Turks Fruit is suddenly my anthem for Amsterdam. (For the people who don't know: http://youtube.com/watch/?v=BF5-qHKGtWY#Toots_Thielemans_-_Turks_Fruit ) It immediatly reminds me of cycling through the city, the small canals and the cosyness of the city.

'Lang leve de koningin' ( https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B0dKuqOLeUI ) a Dutch film about a girl that learns how to play chess, is amazing to watch back and 'Soldaat van Oranje' is cult.

My nationalistic heart starts to beat now I guess. Something I didn't have that much when I was simply in The Netherlands.

But don't get me wrong, I really enjoy my time here, every week I get to meet more people and experience new things and learn something in school every day.

But at the moment, I just want to cuddle with my cat, sleep in my double bed in my own luxurious apartment and basically; I kind of want to see my family. :)

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Verenigd Koninkrijk, Southampton

Annemiek

Actief sinds 15 Jan. 2015
Verslag gelezen: 1134
Totaal aantal bezoekers 4990

Voorgaande reizen:

14 Januari 2015 - 30 Juni 2015

Southampton

Landen bezocht: