Let's get started! - Reisverslag uit Southampton, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Annemiek Boer - WaarBenJij.nu Let's get started! - Reisverslag uit Southampton, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Annemiek Boer - WaarBenJij.nu

Let's get started!

Door: Annemiek den Boer

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Annemiek

25 Januari 2015 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Southampton

It's my first full week here. This means that I had my first classes! Want to know how that went? Keep on reading then...

We decided to go bowling on Saturday with the three houses from the same landlord. We were with 8 in total and it was great fun, although it might just happened that a bowlingball never came back or a pin suddenly got taken away even if it just still stood, so sometimes it was easy scoring.

It's a good thing that, if you buy a ticket on the bus, you only pay for the amount you are actually travelling. However, it can also cause some nasty surprises. But more of that later!

On Monday I had to resit an exam from the Netherlands. I studied the whole Sunday and was fully prepared on Monday. "You can start your exam." Holy moly, it was all in Dutch! But I study in the English stream. I told my supervisor, which was the guy from the International Office that there must have been a mistake.

Although we had to study the same materials the exams are different so let's just hope that the exam will be valid in the end because I studied hard for it and don't want to redo it again because of someone else's fault!

In the evening we went to the Orange Room where there was an Open Mic night. Apparently they have that every Monday and we are planning to go this Monday as well because it was really good. It's weird because people tend to drink mixes or cocktails here when to go out. I looked at the menu and saw they had my favorite cocktail: Caipirinha! I couldn't let that one slip ofcourse!

On Tuesday I had my first class. I was supernervous. Who would be in my class? Would I be an outsider? Because there are so many schoolbuildings I went to the classroom early. I waited and waited and waited a bit longer but no one showed up. And normally, next to the classroom there's a piece of paper which tells you exactly the roomschedule for that week. But nothing!

I went back to the International Office and explained the situation and asked what to do. He called to the teacher and she told us that she contacted her students that the lecture was cancelled but the seminars were still on, but ofcourse, since I was a new student, I didn't receive this message. I was welcome at 11 o'clock.

It was a MAC room and I explained that I was a new student. The teacher was extremely kind and introduced me to the others. There are only around 10 others so a really small intimate group, which I like. She first explained what the planning for the unit was and what whe have to do in the end. We then had to analyze Milan Fashion Week and write down what other websites wrote, how they wrote it and what we noticed about the collections. This is awesome and exactly what I love to do!

For this week the homework is to read some background information and to analyze Paris Fashion Week. No problem, I can stare at men in fancy clothes I guess...

The teacher was, like I said, supernice and looked with me at my schedule. She advised me to change some subjects because Trends in Digital Journalism (what this was) and Media-Platform in Fashion Journalism fit well together and the classes I had at the moment was more of a mess. She also e-mailed IT to give me access to the classes that I was going to take. How nice!

The next day I had the same teacher for another unit: Fashion Bricolage. A subject that will analyze the inspiration of designers, understand which elements come from where and how that influences the end product. I also enjoy this subject because I love to see the references in collections and try to discover where they had their inspiration from. It especially feels awesome if you are correct.

I once saw a show from Chanel and one of the jackets reminded me of the jackets that Ashley Wilson wore in Gone with the wind. Seconds later, the presentor said: The inspiration came from the movie Gone with the wind. Caching! So this subject really suits me I guess.

The Media-Platform was cancelled due to illness of the teacher, who is someone else, but she send the homework through e-mail. A bit of reading and I have to come up with 5 blogposts on the Style section of Buzzfeed.

I think I will have a good portfolio after I finish this half year to show to future employers. I think it will give me a great advantage and there will be some guest lecturers like the Online Editior of Harpers Bazaar. Pretty damn awesome indeed.

Anyway, on Thursday and Friday I had to finish my final portfolio of my internship and it took forever but I finally finished it in the end.

On Saturday, me and two others of another house decided to go to Hythe by ferry. The weather was great, a nice sun and a babyblue sky. The pier was so long that there was this old skool train that took you to the beginning of the pier, eventhough it's only like 500 metres, but hey, we're going for the full experience and apparently some royals have taken that train as well (think George VI, you know, that man from the King's Speech).

Hythe is a typical English little village. But indeed, little. We wanted to see a bit more and decided to take a bus to... well anything that would be interesting. We asked the busdriver to bring us to somewhere that was quite nice and he suggested Totton. 'That will be 7,30 for a return ticket, please.' Where would this place be?!

It turned out that it was a busdrive of half an hour through small villages and through some fields and small forests. We arrived in Totton and discoverd that... there was nothing. So we decided to immediatly take the bus back again. In comparison to the other villages it might indeed have more shops but a drugstore and a petshop is not really interesting for us.

We were sitting on a bench waiting for the bus and next to us were 3 children with their parents. They were quite obnoxious and annoying and we got more irritated by the minute. But at a moment the boy and the youngest girl came towards us and said: You can have my balloon if you want! And gave us their balloon. Finally, the last girl also gave her balloon to us. I was so touched!

However, we still had to go in the bus and we would look crazy with those silly balloons with Tom & Jerry on it so we placed the holders with the balloons in the flowerbed next to the bench telling the kids that someone else could then play with it. I think the boy reconsidered this and took all the balloons out again to have them for his family again. Awell, at least we didn't have to carry them.

We took te bus back and the ferry and decided to get some final groceries at a huge supermarket just behind West Quay (pronounced like West Key, the shopping centre). I thought it would be nice to have a bottle of wine to drink at home. But I hate trying out new wines to figure out which ones are okay and which are bad.

But halleluja! Spotlight on, angels sang and there it was: Lindemans. A brand that you can simply buy at Albert Heijn and have had it at home and I know is decent. Shiraz, welcome to the house, even though you are already half empty now. One of my roommates and I spend a glass and a full evening just chatting and drinking so it was a quiet little evening.

But I am starting to notice what I am missing from back home. My favorite wine is La Tulipe and they didn't have that one, so I am missing that one. Luckily they do have stroopwafels in the supermarket, I think they have that especially for the Dutchies. But most of all I miss my Knorr Wereldgerechten, how stupid it may sound. You bought a package, bought some chicken and you had a great meal with a nice sauce and good flavors and with rice.

First of all; I believe that England is allowed to have more chemicals in their food because I already had some stomach pain after eating several meals here. I don't know if that is a result of my cooking skills or something else but others also complained about the food.

So everyday I have to think of something nice to cook but I usually get lost with pasta or noodles or something, but at least it's quite healthy. I once bought a microwave meal which looked great with rice and prawns but turned out to have tons and tons of ginger in it. Yuk, it was barely eatable.

Anyway, that's it for now, I still have to read some stuff for school and then start to look at the men from Paris Fashion Week so wish me good luck!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Verenigd Koninkrijk, Southampton

Annemiek

Actief sinds 15 Jan. 2015
Verslag gelezen: 285
Totaal aantal bezoekers 4989

Voorgaande reizen:

14 Januari 2015 - 30 Juni 2015

Southampton

Landen bezocht: