I'm going on an adventure! - Reisverslag uit Southampton, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Annemiek Boer - WaarBenJij.nu I'm going on an adventure! - Reisverslag uit Southampton, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Annemiek Boer - WaarBenJij.nu

I'm going on an adventure!

Door: Annemiek den Boer

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Annemiek

15 Januari 2015 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Southampton

Allereerst zal ik vermelden dat al mijn reisverslagen in het Engels zullen zijn, dit omdat ik wil dat iedereen het simpelweg kan lezen.
(First of all I would like to say that all my blogs will be in English, simply because I want everyone to be able to read it)

Off I go, on to a great new adventure!

Friday last week, I had my final day at my internship. Emotional, because I really enjoyed working at the Hotelschool The Hague and made amazing new friends. So for them; you'll hopefully gonna follow me here!

In the evening, my mom arrived in my house in Diemen Zuid in order to have a calm day of cleaning my house rigorously on Saturday.

We knew we had to do a couple of things but in the end we were almost busy the full day. Around 4 o'clock everything was finally done and we went to my birthplace Den Helder.

The next few days were full of packing, washing, buying the final things and measuring. How will I get everything in two suitcases? Yes, it might be vain but I like to have my options. And besides, you are taking óne suitcase for a holiday of two weeks. What about 5 months? My point exactly.

Anyway, our wire for the laundry broke on this very crucial moment. Murphy's law I guess? So our complete house was filled with laundryrecks filled with clothes. You can probably see it in the pictures. Another thing I went to do was polishing my shoes. Really? Yes, really. If we are busy with cleaning and tidying everything, why not all my shoes as well? Not everything went with me ofcourse, but at least they are all neat when I get back.

So after saying goodbye to the people I wouldn't be seeing anymore it was time to go back to my place and sleep the last night. We ought to have sushi but in the car I suddenly said: 'You know what I'm really craving right now? McDonalds. Let's have McDonalds as my final meal!' And so it was. Not very interesting to know, but thought I mention it anyway!

I barely slept due to nervousness and noises. And when I'm nervous I get cranky, but I also get cranky if I don't sleep well so double it and you had a zombie-looking, emotional wreck heading towards the airport!

We first had a cup of coffee and after that my dad and sister arrived. We were all kind of trying to take the edge off, which completely failed ofcourse because I was still nervous as hell.

But then came the luggage. I weighed everything at home and I should be fine but the scales on the airport said something different. 41.2. Luckily I was able to take it with me. The stewardess then wanted to have my hand luggage to sticker that as well. Because I was already carrying my 2 suitcases I left it with my family. So dad turned into a runner and fetched it for me, layed it on the scale. 11.2. I litterly only had my laptop, harddrive, make-up and a book and some sweets with me. It couldn't go with me. But what should I take out? My book and sweets are now at home, unfortunately. Luckily the sweets won't reach their end date soon!

And then came the emotional goodbye. I always cry more when I don't sleep enough and I also was so nervous so Niagra Falls found their replacement then. But everyone cried so it was fine.

I still wanted to buy some stuff after customs but I knew that gate D18 was on the other side. So in stead I already started walking and at the time of boarding I arrived. Almost 30 minutes of walking! Crazyness! However, the plane wasn't even there yet, so I just sat there waiting.

Finally, the plane arrived and without the bleeping alarm of the metal detector (it always bleeps when I pass it, but now it didn't!) I went in. I had measured my little suitcase-hand luggage beforehand and it was made to measure according to Flybe's requirements! But, while I'm trying to get it in the overhead storage I noticed that it wouldn't fit! I tried getting it under my seat but that didn't work either. I walked up to the stewardess and explained the problem. She was already talking about taking it on hold and everything and I was so worried that they might just take my luggage and leave it behind!

Luckily, I found a way to get it under my seat; through my neighbors chair I could just slid it in place. I felt so emberassed. But minutes later, a girl behind me had the same problem! We discovered that we both were going to study abroad and actually studied at the same school in the Netherlands! Small world, eh?

So we both arrived and got our suitcases and I was picked up by my landlords. They are so nice and friendly! Brilliant! It immediatly calmed me down a bit. But what if I didn't like my roomies? Luckily, they are supernice. I arrived and minutes later one of my roomies asked if I needed any help because she was heading out and she could show me around. Unfortunately, I still had some business to take care off with my landlords so that wasn't possible. When I arrived back in my room there was a map with a note saying that this might come in handy. How sweet!

My room is nice and clean and it's just very decent. And luckily the shower can get really warm because I just love hot showers! Anyway, popped by at the university and it's like a maze! Picked up a piece of paper, got myself some groceries and went to bed early, after calling with the people at home, ofcourse.

Today was a full day of school. Well, lots of waiting and school, basically. We had about 2 hours in between every information session. And we didn't got that much information yet, so hopefully that will come within the next few days. But I got to know a few more people and we are with a lot of Dutchies, which is not a good thing, because I wanted something international but at the same time it kinda feels home away from home a bit.

We are very lucky that the university is close to the city centre. You just cross the park and you're there. Easy as that! We have a big mall here with all kinds of stores but also typically English stores (Well, Irish, but sst, don't tell!) like Primark. Yey! And strangely enough also a lot of banks. I don't know why, but they are all here.

Also went to the leisure centre of the university to see if I might want to go to the gym but I still have to think about that. After that, bought a couple of more groceries, cooked myself some dinner and watched 'Wie is de Mol?' on livestream. Wouldn't want to miss that show!

And... that's it for now! Hope you all enjoy these blogs and will keep reading on.

Hugs and butterfly kisses,
AJ on a Journey

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Verenigd Koninkrijk, Southampton

Annemiek

Actief sinds 15 Jan. 2015
Verslag gelezen: 242
Totaal aantal bezoekers 4994

Voorgaande reizen:

14 Januari 2015 - 30 Juni 2015

Southampton

Landen bezocht: